Established 1993. The only club dedicated to all types of vintage garden tools and machinery

.....Find the NEW website and machinery forums at www.vhgmc.co.uk

Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  CalendarCalendar  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Pedestrian operated machines
 VHGMC ForumsThe Machinery ForumsPedestrian operated machines
Message Icon Topic: Problem Dismantling Allen Scythe Post Reply Post New Topic
johnd

Online Status: Offline
Quote johnd Replybullet Topic: Problem Dismantling Allen Scythe
    Posted: 07 May 2013 at 11:13am
I am new to this sort of stuff, but have bought an Allen Scythe to cut a rough paddock. The scythe has Machine No. R27296, and a Villiers Mk11C 2 stroke engine. I replaced coil, points and condenser, and cleaned mud and grit out of carb and petrol tank and engine started 3rd pull. It runs brilliantly and the blades cut well despite not having touched them. The problem I have is the clutch is not engaging and does not move easily, if at all. I am unable to get to the mechanism as this machine has guards surrounding the axles between wheels and body. There is not room to remove them, despite undoing the fastenings, without removing the wheels. How do I get the wheels off? I have undone the two 9/16W nuts that hold the pawl pivots but wheels remain firmly on. Do they just require a threat with a hammer or is there somethin else holding them? I have found the Allen screws in wheel hubs and undone one, other side needs persuasion, but do I need to pull out the gib key and remove the hubs? If so how, a wedge under the head of the gib key?
Any guidance would be much appreciated.

johnd
IP IP Logged
Dieselhead
Forum Member
Forum Member

Quote Dieselhead Replybullet Posted: 07 May 2013 at 7:12pm
Yes you do need to remove the key. Good luck with that!!!